ancient indian history

Rajasthan Brahmins

Rajasthan Brahmins

The history of early human settlement, dates back to about 5,000 years ago in Rajasthan, Sindhu sarswati civilization flourished here. The word Brahmin appeared for the first time in Purush-Sukta, a section of the Rig Veda. Rajasthan has always been a diverse region with a mix of different communities, including Brahmins, belonging to the priestly class,who held important positions in the rajput armies although brahmins are traditionally considered to be priests, scholars, and custodians of religious rituals and knowledge. They are believed to have originated from the mouth of the Hindu god Brahma, hence the name “Brahmin.”
In Rajasthan, Brahmins have also historically played an important role in the social, cultural, and religious life of the state. They have been associated with performing rituals, conducting ceremonies, and providing guidance on religious matters. Brahmins have also been involved in the preservation and transmission of Vedic texts and other religious scriptures.
Early medieval period saw rise of Rajput kingdoms such as Chauhan, Shishodia,Rathores, Gohils, Shekhavats, Jats, Ranas etc
These kingdoms acted as a barrier to Arab invaders from the 8th to the 11th century, it was the power of the Rajput Armies that effectively barred the progress of the Arabs beyond the confines of Sindh. Infact these were the Rajputs, who had never accepted subordination to alien mughal rulers.
Mughal kings spent better part of their lives in trying to subdue the indomitable spirit of these rajput kings.
After Matsya rule fell, the area was known as Rajputana.
The region of Rajasthan has witnessed the rise and fall of several prominent dynasties, including the Gurjara-Pratiharas, Chalukyas, Tomaras, Chauhans, and Rathores. These dynasties were often led by rulers, who were known for their valor, chivalry, and martial traditions.
The Rajput clans played a significant role in the history of Rajasthan. They established various Rajput kingdoms, such as Mewar (Udaipur), Marwar (Jodhpur), Amber (Jaipur), and Bikaner, among others. These kingdoms were often engaged in conflicts with external invasions from the Delhi Sultanate and the Mughal Empire. While Rajputs were the dominant ruling class, it is important to note that the brahmins continued to assist their Rajput allies in many battles including the First Battle of Tarain and later in the disastrous Second Battle of Tarain, both occurring in the 12th century. The last time the Kachwahas fought for the Rajputs was under the Mewar leader Rana Sanga of Chittor in the Battle of Khanwa in 1527.
Prithviraj Chauhan led a coalition who defeated the Ghurid army. The Gohils and Sisodia of Chittor, who continued to resist the Mughals against heavy odds eventually gave rise to the leadership of Maharana Pratap in the 16th century, both men became a symbol of Rajput valour.
The Brahmins of Rajsthan are mostly Dadheechs, Pareeks, Saraswats, Gujjar Gaur, Khandelwal or Khandal, Shrimalis, Pushkarnas, and Gaurs. The northern rajsthan group consists of Sarasvati, Gauda, Kannauj, Maithil, and Utkal Brahmans
Aboti Brahmins were agricultural community of Rajasthan, , around 1228 CE (1306 VS), They migrated to Gujrat.
Bias/Vyas and Dadheech Brahmins, or Dahima or Dadhich are also few more communities of Rajasthan.
Gaur & Nagar Brahmins are a landholding class of Brahmins of Rajsthan. The Gaur Brahmins are one of the five Pancha Gauda Brahmin communities that live in the north of the Vindhyas. The Pareeks are an ethnic group found in the state of Rajasthan in India and are mostly concentrated in the districts of Jaipur, Ajmer, Nagaur, Bhilwara, Jodhpur, Bikaner, Sikar, Jhunjhunu and Churu. Pareek community traces its lineage to Maharishi Parashara.
 Sanadya Brahmin or Sanadh Brahmin, or Sanah Brahmin or Sanidya Brahmin or Sanadhya Gour Chaurasiya Brahmin of Rajsthan, are a sub caste of agrarian Gaur Brahmins. 
Shrimali Brahmins are believed to have originated from Srimal (the present-day Bhinmal) in Jalore district in the Indian state of Rajasthan.
Rawal is a Brahmin community resident of Sirohi, Pali, Jalore districts of Rajasthan. This title was given to Brahmins settled in Sirohi district of Rajasthan. Later they started applying their surname caste ‘Raval’ and later on they came to be called ‘Raval Brahmin’.
A large number of Vedic Brahmins of Rajasthan, along with the Rajputs migrated to adjoining regions like Kumaon, Gujarat, Uttrakhand, Maharashtra etc. during medieval period due Islamic invasions. Later on these Brahmins from Kumaon migrated to Nepal and Garhwal Hills.
Consequent to 1947 partition many uprooted Punjabi brahmins settled in various regions of Rajasthan.
Paliwal Brahmins are the descendants of Maharaj Haridas. These happened about 6000 years ago and were the priests of Queen Rukmani. It was he who had brought Rukmini’s love marriage to Shri Krishna. He was a true Brahmin of high rank. He was born in village Kundanpur. Shri Krishna was pleased with him and gave him a lot of money and land in Gujarat, on which he had established Haripur village in his name, which still exists in ruins. From there the mention of our ancestors going to Marwar and settling in Pali is found in history.
Some scholars have argued that the Bhumihar Brahmins of Eastern U.P. and in the state of Bihar, Mohyal Brahmins in the state of Punjab, Namboothiri Brahmins in Kerela, Havyak Brahmins of Karnataka, Anavil Brahmins of Gujarat, and Kumaoni Brahmins of Uttarakhand share the same lineage and are similar to Chitpawans in custom, tradition, practices, temperament and hold Bhagvan Parshuram in high esteem. The records of Swami Sahajanand Saraswati in “Brahmarshi Vansha Vistar” and Acharya Chatursen Shastri in “Vayam Rakshamah” points towards the same origin, by taking help of all ancient texts as well as prevailing customary practices and temperament of these illustrious Brahmins.

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Scroll to Top